Questions on forgetfulness

I saw two friends today. One was visiting the other. The visitor visited the man in an institution for people with dementia. The man couldn’t have been older than 60, I suspect even younger. After me asking, the man told me they had been friends for 23 years. He told me while he was combing his hair for the third time in a row. And then he went to re-arrange his stuff at his washing basin, twice. But he just moved stuff around. 

I can’t imagine what it must be like to see your friend deteriorate like that. Let alone any other family member. And what must it feel like to be trapped in your own mind? From my own experience with my previous injury I can tell you, for the most time you are not even there anymore. So basically you aren’t asking these questions. And if you did then you don’t remember anymore. And what happened? No idea. What did I do yesterday? No clue either..

I just wanted to share my thoughts and give you something to read. Have a good day..

Leave a comment